top of page
Search
  • darkentriesjournal

POETRY BY PAIGE EATON

Dream Whispers


Trees grew scales, dragonflies had

wingspans the length of a human arm.


Scales are the woody refuse of trees with

eczema. The webbing kaleidoscope of

gossamer wraps you in a strangled embrace.


You are a star-kindler. Your lips shared a kiss

with your jaw. Thank you for sharing your

sinew with my countenance.

I can’t hear you. Your face is not you.

You don’t know me but I see you.


We climbed the slippery metal siding of

a house breathing with fungus, throbbing

below our feet, and I reattached my face,

connected muscles and skin in a sickening

crunch. Can you hear me now?


Scrape away your preconceptions

and smile through a mouthful of spiders.

You are no more dead than alive.

Warmth opens the gates to my mind.

Spit out your brain. Drag

your sharp claws over my inception,

tear me out of this cognitive womb.




Paige Eaton is a recent graduate of Hartwick College, with a B.A. in History. She is originally from Rochester, New York. Her recent work focuses on surreal and dream-like experiences. Her work has appeared in Word of Mouth and her poem “The Itaewon Tragedy was a Pentadecagon,” won honorable mention for the 2023 Anna Sonder Prize for Poetry.

77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page