top of page
Search
  • darkentriesjournal

POETRY BY ELIZABETH COHEN

otherlings


what is this? shadow

without a counterpart


riding the world

unattached


it slips down the sidewalk

to the gutter


like it belongs

kicks at a bit of curb


wraith-creature

mama ghost being


thing without

its thing


I’m thinking

it has come


here to collect

a someone, or maybe even


to snatch up me

(after it fell across my foot


on west 59th street

I became suspicious)


it has to have

a tether – right?


(as if I wouldn’t notice –)

like that time


I saw the bathroom mirror

reflecting the empty shower


behind it

in a place it had no right


to peer

otherlings are waiting for us


make no mistake

they bend the rules


the way you might

step across the street


before the light has turned

or snuck a supermarket grape


they are the things outside

the rules of the game


and they want in

I tell you


I’ve seen it

I have felt it


they want a share

in the world, they want a


piece of living

move your foot


kick up your heels walk fast if they come for you


grab a door handle

drink


water

ask your friends


to meet you

somewhere for lunch


stay in the known world

as best you can


drive fast

through night forests


don’t stop often

just go




hand it over


those things

outside the edges


marginalia flowers hands I’m drawing


little lines that defy

the borders


& suddenly become

critters with faces


smaller than gnomes

larger than insects


I’m drawing

these things


pen and ink

outside of paragraphs


outside of text country

the land of print


they shouldn’t bother anyone

really, unless


you ask the question:

where did they come from?


I know I do not know them.

They appeared on the page


as if I had put them there

with intent but clearly


these tiny monsters

are drawing me


somehow, despite the facts

here.


I have not been

particularly porous


lately yet they’ve gotten in


I’m looking for the exit ramp

If you see it, honk twice


I’m putting these gel pens away

shutting the book


leaving these margin

creatures outside the margins


in the flat country

of these pages


open this book

at your own risk


truly




Elizabeth Cohen is a poet from New Mexico and the author of six books of poetry, including the forthcoming Martini Tattoo (Alien Buddha Press), available in the fall of 2022. She holds an MFA from Columbia University.

79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page