top of page
Search
  • darkentriesjournal

POETRY BY BECKY WALKER

Preparation for Hibernation


There’s always been later

but it appears later

is now

and I gorge

insatiable

insatiate

on the darkening that crowds closer


Waved in with winds

mounted on cloud

running before the rains

kneeling on the neck of night

I open my arms and welcome it unto me

fill my gaping maw

cram it down my throat

and gorge

on recollection ushered in on darkening wing

as the cog of the year clicks toward the end


And this year

as it turns through the liminal space into darkness

I do not close windows against the winds

or draw curtains on clouds

I let the rain run where it will

I leave off the light

and gorge on the darkness

against the dormant days

where I shall go to ground

and digest

before I am reborn

into the weak wet sunlight of my coming spring




Becky Walker is an artist, spoken-word performer, and writer based in Westcliff-on-sea, UK. She also once demanded cheese in preference to a box of chocolates as a thank you because she likes what she likes.


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page