top of page
Search
  • darkentriesjournal

POETRY AND FLASH FICTION BY AMELIA K.

SUPINE


I busted the spine

of the qpb book of irish literature

on page 697, the last page

of dante and the lobster

my favorite page

when I came home from the hospital

I did it on purpose


I was choking

on my own spit

and my own blood

until my mom straightened

my awful head

with her clean hands

It was not my fault


I spent 7 years

curled against the tomb

of my ex's wrath

like a still kitten

born the size of one bite

Happy that life is slow

Happy that death is slower




ALLEGORY


One that has many fruit flavors; one that has nuts and one that doesn’t; one with a maze, a crossword, a word search; one that is based on a candy bar; one that is good dry, for when milk is too expensive; one that gets soggy so quickly it requires little milk; one that is shaped for luck, love, magic; one that is organic as opposed to inorganic, perhaps; one that comes in a large bag; one with natural dyes and one without; a holiday version of one that is, in composition, not different from the usual; one that will give money to one lucky school; one that is and always has been shaped like an O.


I was glad when the bullet entered me through a box of Trix. It was good to have so many choices.




Amelia K. lives in Georgia with her son. Her work has appeared or is forthcoming in Dirt, Cordite, The Braag, ctrl+v, and others. Her website is bio.site/ameliak.

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page