top of page
Search
  • darkentriesjournal

POETRY BY TIM JL

Updated: Sep 27, 2022

I am bound to this place


I am bound to this place.


When we are lost to each other

the faces out of the fog

do not turn my way.


From the old tower I watch the streets become

the burrowed fingers of the underlands,

that descend and hold the earth

and their mute passengers

with a deathless grip.


My own fleeting time

is spilled onto the grey

outlines of spreading stone,

memories find new foundations

that keep me where I walk.


Every footstep engraves a deeper trace

onto this city of a tomb.


I can only find myself

in the narrow passages

and crevices where darkness leads

to where there once was life

before me.


Between the aging sodium streetlamps

and the darkness to which

their ailing light offers itself

so freely,


this heart is given

to the concrete.

A deathly shell,

constricting.


My body rises with every grace

of the liminal,

where the cold surface blurs

into the fog.


Every limb is pulled outwards,

tied to the grey walls that divide

the living ghosts.


I am bound to this place.




Tim JL is a young creative living in London who enjoys the arts, photography, music and cats while trying to make sense of anxiety and imagining a better world. He has previously been published in Impostor, and he is due to be published in Issue III of Intangible Magazine. He can be found on Instagram @mr.timnus and Twitter @amanoutoftim.

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page